California Paid Sick Leave Act Effective July 1, 2015

On September 10, 2014, Governor Brown signed into law the “Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014” (“HWHFA”) (AB 1522). The purpose of this law is to provide protection to California employees by ensuring, among other things, that they are able to address their own health needs and those of their families.

Effective July 1, 2015, this new law will require California employers to provide paid sick leave benefits to their employees. Some of the conditions associated with this law include displaying a poster that addresses employees’ rights for mandatory sick time pay and providing a written notice of paid sick leave rights to newly hired employees at the time of hire.

Depending on the extent of the situation, employers that violate or fail to comply with this law could be forced to pay up to three times the amount of the unpaid sick pay due and administrative fines that vary from $50 to $4,000 per violation.

Learn more details about what employers need to know about this law in a presentation given by Only for Dentists principal, Bassim N. Michael, CPA, CVA, MS Tax.

For more information about this law or how it may affect your individual circumstances, please contact the accountants at Only for Dentists.